Life Lessons from a 2yr old

27apostrophes

This is my son Noah. I asked him to show me his pirate “Arrgh” and I nailed the picture. Quite by accident really I had no idea that he would jump or what I would get – he is 2 remember – but this was just perfect. It captures his personality to a T – outgoing passionate excitable living with abandon and loving life. That’s my boy. πŸ™‚

I immediately uploaded this to Facebook and my feed just about exploded. Friends were commenting and liking and I think it has to be one of my most popular posts to date.

By why I thought? What is it about this picture as opposed to the other tremendously cute ones did it make my friends respond so much to?

Here’s what I came up with – because it tells a story of a kid grabbing life by the horns and refusing to let go. A child full of hope and adventure and faith and exuberance and personality.

And deep down isn’t that what we all want for ourselves too? We want a picture like that. Heck we want a life like that. Yet we feel so stuck in our day to day it’s hard to see that we can have that.

I think many of us wish we could live our lives like a child. Not caring about who is watching and just being joyful in the moment. I know I do. I know that despite also being very outgoing I hold back things in certain situations or because I feel like I’m expected to act a certain way. And to tell you the truth watching him play that day fully confident in himself I was a little jealous. I want to play like that and live like that all the time. And so I did and I’m starting to again. πŸ™‚

After all the years of living like an “adult” living in the moment takes practice. Being full of life and joy takes practice. And today I’m going to go practice.

Thank you Noah for the life lessons you teach me without ever knowing! πŸ™‚

– Jess

Leave a Reply

