And to think, I was worried about laundry

I spent my precious “nap time” today doing a LOT of weekend catch-up on housework. And I’m feeling pretty good about it.

Mid-way through the PILE of dishes (seriously, is there ever not a pile?), I got the feeling that something wasn’t right. That something was happening. However, since I tend to take these thoughts on a wild ride of imagination, I like to stop them before they even start. I typically say something to myself like “that is not happening, that is not going to happen” and refocus my thoughts.

About an hour later I get a text message from my husband that said “Did you see what happened in Boston?” I turned on the tv to see what was going on and saw the aftermath of the bombs, the live coverage, the videos of people screaming. Suddenly my big debate of the day, whether to put the laundry on the line or not, seemed really quite foolish.

My roommate from college was right there. She was in the bleachers near one of the bombings. She’s home and safe but undoubtedly shaken up. I can’t help but think about how she’s doing mentally and what that’s like for her. I’m thinking about how is she going to sleep tonight, how would I react, and thank God she is ok.

My husband came home to be with us. We just felt that we wanted a family night after the days events. I didn’t put the laundry on the line, in fact I’m pretty sure it’s still in the washer. It really doesn’t matter though. There are much more important things today. Like cuddling with my husband while we watch our 2 year old play.

Praying for Boston.

– Jess

Leave a Reply

