My Resurrection Story Easter 2013

don't give up.

 

I’d been putting off working on this event for months. Although I’m not entirely sure why I did that but, I did. So the week of the event comes and I’m scrambling. I finally ask for help and my husband more than rises to the challenge. (Why did I not ask him earlier?) Thankfully with his help and guidance I pulled it off but the night before it didn’t look like I was going to be the one to do it.

At 11pm, I had a final thought that it would be a good idea to go over what I needed to do the next day to ensure a successful event. I still had to go to the store for milk for my son – why I never remember earlier in the day is beyond me. In any case, I was at my computer and my husband asked if I was ready for the next day. I wasn’t and I told him so and I could tell he was upset. I was too. Why had I done this again?

After a long discussion I finally said to my husband “you just do it – I’d rather lay in bed all day than be embarrassed tomorrow”. I don’t think I actually meant it but that’s what came out of my mouth. He was flabbergasted – where was the confident, excited, outgoing girl he had met a few years ago? I was asking myself the same thing.

While I couldn’t answer that I did know one thing – I had two choices, to lay in bed all day and avoid the whole thing, or I could get up and do my best and knock it out of the park and possibly change peoples lives.

I got up. I faced the day. I rocked it. And that was my turning point.

The next day I spent  the whole day  going over the poem I was reading for Sunday service. I had only practiced it once with the band and I was a little nervous. I know God would be with me but I knew I hadn’t done what I needed, so I once again pushed to get it done right.

That Sunday, we had a packed house. I had my emergency words on the stand in front of me and I had Jesus right next to me. As I spoke I could feel His strength pushing me further. When I messed up a line it was His peace that helped me to keep going. And at the end when I finished it was Him who moved in the hearts of people in church that week. They all shouted and got to their feet and I was forever changed.

In those three days I saw more love and support from my husband than I have from anyone my whole life. He spend the entire Sunday going around telling EVERYONE he met how proud he was of me and what a great job I did. After I got off stage he told me how amazing that was and how proud he was of me and I told him – it’s just the beginning, you haven’t seen anything yet.

God moved in my life in a HUGE way that weekend. He showed me how I could lean on Him when I needed. He reminded me that my husband is beyond supportive of me. He showed me that I do have talents and He needs me to use them because there are things that only I can do for the Kingdom of God.

Easter Weekend 2013 was my resurrection – from the doubt, disappointment, depression, sadness, and all the other negative things I’ve been feeling.  I’ve been made new in Christ and I’m beyond excited.

One thought on “My Resurrection Story Easter 2013

Leave a Reply

