End of Week 1

I’ve never thought of myself as an emotional eater. Whenever that term would come up I’d have a “that doesn’t apply to me” mentality. And even if asked to think about it I would say no, I don’t think so.

However, as I’ve learned the past few days, I most definitely am an emotional eater. Please don’t read that as incredibly out of control. Or I’m so sad the only thing I can do is eat. No, no.

I say this because I see my will power goes wayyyyyyy down when it come to feel good foods when I’m in emotional distress.

Fight with my husband? Yes please add whipped cream to that delicious caffinated beverage. Feeling like the world is spinning out of control and there is too much to do? Yes I’ll have a handful of candy oh and whatever carbs you can find please. Stressful day at work? Does anyone else want an extra cup of coffee? Or better yet – chocolate covered coffee beans? huh? huh?

I never noticed it before but foods cheer me up – or at least they do something to get my mind refocused enough to believe that I’ve been cheered up. Well played DD Carmel Latte, well played.

And looking back at all the food raids of the kitchen after school. Maybe it wasn’t just that we were hungry, perhaps we were hungry for something more.

I don’t know – nor am I going to think about it. What I need now is a plan. Yes I love plans. They help me think, they make me feel like I have some sort of control, and if actually followed they make me feel accomplished.

This week will be an interesting week for all of us. We’re heading to New Hampshire for a family vacation. Typically this means days of fast food and chips and hot dogs. But this year we’re going to attempt to eat healthy. That means we’re bringing the Visalus Shakes, our blender and plenty of fresh veggies and spices so we can grill them up. Yum!

It also means we will have to plan meals and whatnot in order to avoid meltdowns from all of us, yes that includes me 😛

Oh and despite all this emotional upheaval I’ve had – I lost 2.6lbs. It’s not a huge number but it’s a starting point and it makes me happy because I must be doing something right.

 

– JW

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

